Running at Kripalu

Well, this weekend I was at Kripalu.  That would take a whole other blog post to describe my experience – glad I went is a good summary.

Yesterday, I decided to skip a session to get my two-hour trail run in. While I was reluctant to do that because Stephen Cope is one of my favorite authors, I had to.

Lucky I.  I had a taste of the Berkshire Trails.  How beautiful.

I navigated by Monk Pond to Bald Head.

I was about three miles in when my cell phone blasted a severe weather alert.  A line of marching thunderstorms was about to cross the region.  Well, what do you do in that case?  You are alone and you are in the middle of a forest.  Nothing.

These are the moments that I hate running alone in the woods.  And, other moments like bears, snakes, tripping and falling, multiple deer hooves, etc., etc., etc.  You begin to understand that you are not in your natural element and that nature is much bigger than you.  There is a whole other world out there………

I was on a Mountain Race when I hit a severe thunderstorm last year.  There is nothing you can do.  The trails become rivers down as they funnel all of the flash rain down and the lighting you just keep moving.  I think that was the race that my cell phone “fried” in.

So, I picked up the pace and just kept going, saying a silent prayer. I came to an overlook where a man was meditating on the edge.  I didn’t want to bother him to say “hey, buddy, see those dark clouds…”  Perhaps his meditating saved us.

The storm passed north of us.  Barely, but it did.

So, I continued my run.

It was a spectacular one.  I was waiting to see the mama bear that they say lives back there but no such luck.

All in all, it was a wonderful seven-mile jaunt on some of the nicest trails I have been on.

Did I say steep though?  Yes, steep.

Today, I woke up with a head cold.  Probably the casualty of sleeping with my windows open soaking in that crisp Berkshire night air.

I struck up a conversation with the Cafe operator and he noted that I could sneak over to Tanglewood as it is free after 9 p.m.  I just couldn’t muster the strength.  And, it was bleedy dark.

The Yoga and breath work was so intuitive and soul-connecting but that is an inspiration for another blog.

My training sucked this week. So, I am hoping that was a symptom that my body is a bit run down and thus the cold.  I hit the track this last Wednesday to find that football practice has already started after Paul gently warned me.  That means that this week, I need to head to Umass Dartmouth to get my workout in.  The track there is far superior it is just a hike.

This is a new week of training.

A 16 miler on the docket for Saturday with an almost three-hour trail run on Sunday.

A new week dawns.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

