Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa

Three Acts of Contrition, my dear.

In the meantime,

for my little white lie,

three overdoses have happened.

 

Two Hail Marys, my dear.

In the meantime,

for my one swear word,

the oceans are dying.

 

One Our Father, my dear.

In the meantime,

for my rudeness

people around the globe are starving,

drinking unclean water.

 

So much hatred, violence, and ego-centric living in the world.

I sit in Church, atoning,

while our Earth is dying.

 

 

As I sit saying my rote prayers,

beating my chest over and over,

“Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa.”

“My fault, my fault, my most grievous fault.”

 

People are dying all over the world.

And, I confess my white lie to save another.

 

“I  have sinned through my own fault,

my most grievous fault.”

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

