Awake dear soul! Awake!

You are so known you are forgotten.

Complacency and familiarity.

I see you but yet I do not see you.

The hummingbird flies outside the window

but yet I cannot stop to see.

 

Awake dear soul!  Awake!

 

I see the surface but yet not what lies below.

My soul, your soul, our soul

is covered by a cloak of time.

 

Awake dear soul!  Awake!

 

Numbing and distance.

Deep below lies a landscape unknown.

But complacency and familiarity have

numbed me to its excavation.

 

Awake dear soul!  Awake!

 

You grab my hand but I pull away.

The mystery forgotten

lost in a quiet death

not seeing for myself any longer

living in my numbed complacent life.

 

Awake dear soul!  Awake!

 

Lead me away from this deadened life to

the mystery and magic,

blessing and possibility

that lie deep below.

 

Awake dear soul!  Awake!

 

Come, let’s excavate the soul.

Leave a Reply

