As I walked along…

As I walked along,

I was surprised by who I met.

Like Cleopas,

I could not recognize him,

but, yet he walked with me.

Finding me right where I stood in life.

He drew me near to him,

and we walked.

Together.

His story became my story.

His soul ruptured in deep places

was my soul.

Looking into his eyes,

I forgot myself.

I was lost in his soul,

my soul.

His story

was

my story

from a deep well,

deep inside.

A ruptured soul

seeking, seeking

seeking

wholeness.

His soul.

My soul.

I have been walking long.

I am tired.

Thirst.

I thirst.

I don’t want to walk anymore.

But, I look in his eyes,

and I see

pain,

suffering,

sorrow.

My pain.

My suffering.

My sorrow.

Reflected back.

And, I take his outstretched hand into mine,

gently.

Take his pain, sorrow, and lament

into mine

gently.

And, we walk.

And, walk.

Like Cleopas.

Cradling all that is in the palms of our hands.

I receive.

And, we forget all that was.

For now, we have life.

And, we become whole.

Whole.

Weeping, together

in the palms

of each other’s

hands

gently.

 

17991945_10155169361412480_5065907902855412268_n

The early morning beauty of the Saugatuck River in Westport, CT during my morning run today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

