“Why do you look for the living among the dead?”

Woman, I told you

He is not here.

Why do you not listen

or

hear

of what I say?

I slip

into the

nothingness

that exists

in an empty tomb.

In deep

confusion,

I sit in

nothingness

and I wait.

Woman, I told you…

In the nothingness,

I wait.

A new creation will rise.

New hope.

New life.

New possibility.

At the tomb,

I must sit and wait

in

nothingness.

Ony through death

and

nothingness

comes new.

“Why do you look for the living among the dead?”

Woman, I told you.

 

The photo above was taken during a stay in Pleasant Point, Sipayik, near Eastport, ME with the Passamaquoddy tribe.

It is from a grave site at a reservation called Indian Township.   I stayed with Sister Janice Murphy, RSM at the Sipayik reservation sharing in her ministry and learning about the native culture, religion, and the sociological impacts of reservations on Indian Nations.  

The basis of which became a story I shared with donors of the Sisters of Mercy.  It was a story of a waiting…

https://www.wabanaki.com

 

Leave a Reply

