Rest awhile…

I am weary.

Let me be real about just how weary I am feeling.

The holidays are coming.

Presents, food, family.

All those things that make one tremendously weary.

My business is coming to end.

I am starting a new job.

I just can’t seem to catch a break to rest my head.

The contracts and work seem to go on and on.

I just want it to end.

I am weary.

I am an overeater.

Food stresses me out.

There is so much of it this time of year.

Can I hold my compulsion back?

I am weary.

No scratch that.  I am tired.

I come to You now

with my weariness, with my burdens, with my tiredness.

Take it away, I pray.

I long for Your presence and yet know that

I need to jump into it.

I am weary.

You are the well of refreshment.

May I rest my head a while on Your shoulder?

I am weary.

2 thoughts on “Rest awhile…

  1. Good morning! Thank you for this poem, OA Girl! I especially like the line “You are the well of refreshment.” I’m a compulsive overeater in grateful recovery today, and I think the holiday season is full of challenges. May this be a time of kindness and love in our lives.

Leave a Reply

