The falling leaves…

Mortality.

Today I look you in the face, and I ask

“how am I spending my life”

“what is it that I am doing and how much is it costing my life?”

I visited you this weekend.

A cementary, an old one.

Filled with people since long past.

A reminder of forgotten lives.

I faced my mortality in the eye.

My body is aging, my brain is slowly declining.

Each tombstone a reminder to live today for soon it will be over.

October, the falling leaves.

October a time of death and dying.

I faced my mortality in the eye.

And, I questioned, “how am I truly living my life today?”

October the seeds of fertile rebirth.

October, the death of old ways.

Today, I ask “where am I going, what am I doing, how am I spending my days?”

I faced my mortality in the eye.

October, month of blessings.

Leave a Reply

