Need versus dependency!

Oftentimes in my life, I have been told that I am “needy.”

To express a need is natural and healthy for the fact of the matter is that we all have them.  To expect others to fill that need and to do something about them is not, that is dependency.

So own your need, ask for your need, but, don’t expect or demand that person to fulfill your need.

You are not dependent in fact when you can express it and fulfill it yourself.

Most recently, my significant other and I spent time expressing our needs and sharing with one another.  It was quite a very moving experience and in the process of doing so without any expectations, it actually bonded us more closer to each other.  A tender moment expressed in one sentence, “I realized that I needed you much more than I ever truly thought.”

Leave a Reply

